Arsenal’s Iwobi shortlisted for Golden Boy Award

Arsenal forward Alex Iwobi has been put on the shortlist for the 2016 Golden Boy Award.

The award is given to the best young player in the world, and has previously been won by the likes of Paul Pogba, Lionel Messi and Isco, but it is worth noting that six of the 13 winners of the award have been based in England.

Wayne Rooney, Anderson and Anthony Martial have all won it whilst with Manchester United, Raheem Sterling won for his Liverpool role previously, and Mario Balotelli also picked up the award when he was impressing for Manchester City back in 2010.

Cesc Fabregas is our only winner of the competition back in 2006, and there is a slim chance we could pick up our second winner exactly 10 years later.

Alex Iwobi has become a first-team regular for us since February, after scoring in an incredible full debut against Premier League rivals Everton.

The Nigerian is unlikely to be among the favourites however, with other more high profile candidates likely to be voted for.

Last year’s winner was the highest young signing of the summer, with Martial arriving at Old Trafford in a deal worth over £50 Million, and on that theory, this year’s winner could be between Man City’s £37 Million purchase Leroy Sane or Bayern Munich’s £27.5 Million signing Renato Sanches.

Full Golden Boy 2016 nominee list:

Alex Iwobi (Arsenal)
Andreas Christensen (Chelsea on loan at Borussia Monchengladbach)
Nathan (Chelsea on loan with Vitesse Arnhem)
Ruben Loftus-Cheek (Chelsea)
Demerai Gray (Leicester City)
Marko Grujic (Liverpool)
Kelechi Iheanacho (Man City)
Leroy Sane (Man City)
Marcus Rashford (Man Utd)
Dele Alli (Spurs)
Moussa Dembele (Celtic)
Asensio Marco Willemsen (Real Madrid)
Leon Bailey (Racing Genk)
Bazoer Riechedly (Ajax)
Boschilia Gabriel (Monaco)
Brandt Julian (Bayer Leverkusen)
Carlos Fernández Luna (Sevilla)
Coman Kingsly (Bayern Munich)
Coric Ante (Dinamo Zagreb)
Diawara Amadou (Napoli)
Dahoud Mahmoud (Borussia Mönchengladbach)
Danilo Barbosa da Silva (Benfica)
Dembélé Ousmane (Borussia Dortmund)
Donnarumma Gianluigi (AC Milan)
Embolo Breel-Donald (Schalke 04)
Gabriel Barbosa Almeida (Internazionale)
Golovin Aleksandr Sergeevic (CSKA Moscow)
Gonçalo Manuel Ganchininho Guedes (Benfica)
Halilovic Alen (Hamburger SV)
Kovalenko Viktor (Shakhtar Donetsk)
Hernández Lucas (Atletico Madrid)
Mammana Emanuel (Olympique Lyonnais)
Ntcham Jules Olivier (Genoa)
Renato Júnior Luz Sanches (Bayern Munich)
Riedewald Jairo (Ajax)
Rúben Diogo da Silva Neves (Porto)
Sanabria Arnaldo Antonio Ayala (Real Betis)
Tah Jonathan Glao (Bayer Leverkusen)
Tielemans Youri (Anderlecht)
Touré Almamy (Monaco)

source: justarsenal

Related Post